Wildcats finish 8th at NECC X-Country Championships



Regis Women Win the NECC Cross Country Championship

Regis Women Win the NECC Cross Country Championship

WESTFIELD, Mass. – The Regis Pride cross country team raced to a first place finish at the New England Collegiate Conference Championship. The Pride won the NECC Championship for the first time in history led byMolly Curtin who was named the 2016 NECC Runner of the Year.

Regis College placed three runners in the top five, for a team total of 36 points. Siobhan McLaughlin finished with a time of 19:39.23, followed just behind by freshmanMaddie Boucias (19:40.57). Boucias earned 2016 NECC Rookie of the Year honors.

Finishing in second as a team was Southern Vermont College, who also earned their best finish in school history with a score of 49. The Mountaineers junior Annika Kristiansen had their top finish with a time of 20:04 landing in fourth place. While her classmate finished right behind with a time of 20:07.

Regis College head coach Kourtney Bonsey earned NECC Coach of the Year honors after an incredible season.

Lelsey University finished in third as a team with 54 points led by Amy Bouchard, who finished in seventh place with a time of 20:37 for All-NECC First team honors.

Many of the team will continue competition at the NCAA New England Regional 6k on November 12th at Stanley Park, in Westfield, Mass.



NECC All Conference First Team

  1.  Molly Curtin, Regis
  2. Siobhan McLaughlin, Regis
  3. Maddie Boucias , Regis
  4. Annika Kristiansen, Southern Vermont
  5. Isabella Poulos, Southern Vermont
  6. Sarah Tatgenhorst, Elms
  7. Amy Bouchard, Lesley

NECC All-Conference Second Team

8. Emma Wilson, Wheelock
9. Jordan Penney, Lesley
10.  Nicole Footer, Lesley
11.  Shelby Whitman, Southern Vermont
12.  Hannah Levensailor, Lesley
13.  Sarah Backolm, Regis
14.  Jordan Welch, Southern Vermont

NECC All-Sportsmanship Team


Bay Path – Megan McKenna
Elms – Sarah Kaczenski
Lesley – Beth Corona
Mitchell – Francesca Pinard
Newbury – Samantha Libby
Regis – Siobhan McLaughlin 
Southern Vermont – Shelby Whitman
Wheelock – Emma Wilson


Courtesy of Regis & Southern Veromnt Athletics Communications.